About GESTAR II

Vision Statement

In December 2021, GESTAR II partnered with NASA Goddard Space Flight Center’s Earth Science Division to advance Earth science and Goddard’s leadership by providing a competitive environment to hire and retain high-quality scientists who are on track to be leaders at NASA, in academia and in industry. GESTAR II exemplifies the power of mentorship, embracing a career development strategy that only a university research center can provide. In GESTAR II, early-career researchers and students can build outstanding resumes, launching them to become the Earth science leaders of tomorrow.

Leadership

Belay Demoz, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC
)
bdemoz@umbc.edu
410-455-2715
Physics Bldg, Room 424
Daniel Laughlin, Ph.D.
Morgan State University

daniel.laughlin@morgan.edu
410-212-3781
Xiaowen Li, Ph.D.
Chief Scientist
Morgan State University
xiaowen.li@nasa.gov
301-614-6319
Margo Young
Director of Earth & Space Research Administration (ESRA)
University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
mayoung@umbc.edu
410-455-1764
Jose D. Fuentes, Ph.D.
Penn State University
jdfuentes@psu.edu
814-863-1585
Sonia M. Kreidenweis, Ph.D.
Colorado State University
sonia@atmos.colostate.edu
970-491-8350
Vernon Morris, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Vernon.Morris@asu.edu
Jingli Yang, Ph.D.
ERT
Jingli.Yang@ertcorp.com
240-554-0161
Carolyn Wilson
SURA
CWilson@SURA.org
Phone: 202-408-8210
Jaynesh Patel
Northrop Grumman
jaynesh.patel@ngc.com